Israelite Tribes

by israelnow_jsw1io
israelite tribes

Israelite tribes

Israel was a nation of 12 tribes in biblical times. The 12 Tribes of Israel, also known as the Twelve Tribes of Israel,
are listed in the Hebrew Bible as being descendants of the twelve sons of Jacob.

israelite tribes

The Israelites can be divided into 12 tribes, each of which descended from one of Jacob’s 12 sons.
The names of the twelve tribes are as follows: Reuben, Simeon, Levi, Judah, Issachar, Zebulun, Benjamin, Dan,
Naphtali (the sons of Bilhah), Gad (the sons of Zilpah), Asher (the son of Leah), and Joseph (the son of Rachel).

The Bible records that Jacob, one of the three patriarchs of the Israelites, had twelve sons.
These sons became the founders of the Twelve Tribes of Israel, which are traditionally identified as being composed of six tribes
descended from each of Jacob’s two wives.

The twelve tribes of Israel are the children of Jacob

The location or geographical area where these people lived is not exactly clear.
The Bible mentions that they went out to live in the land which God had given to their father, Israel.
It also mentions that they eventually migrated towards Egypt and were enslaved by Pharaoh.
After many years, Moses led them out of Egypt and into the Promised Land where they settled down for some time
before fighting with other tribes in Canaan.

You may also like